Conserving Nanuuq and the Arctic Ecosystem for present and future generations of Arctic Alaska Natives
Representing the villages of:
Kaktovik, Barrow, Wainwright, Nuiqsuit, Point Lay, Point Hope, Kivalina, Kotzebue, Shishmaref, Wales, Little Diomede, King Island, Brevig Mission, Gambell, Savoonga.


The Alaska Nanuuq Commission was formed in 1994 and has been appointed as a full partner to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service in the Co-management of polar bears. Since then, we have been the primary Native organization to advance the conservation of polar bears through representation of Alaska’s polar bear users in all issues of polar bear management.

Our mission is to ensure that Alaska Native hunters will continue to have the opportunity to harvest these resources through conservation of the species, because when we lose the resources we hunt, we also lose our cultures.